Arizona State Historic Preservation Conference Honors Winners for Contributions to Arizona’s Architectural and Archaeological Heritage

June 20, 2017

PHOENIX – During the 2017 Arizona Historic Preservation Conference held in the Town of Oro Valley June 14-16, awards were given to 17 recipients for the Annual Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards (including the James W. Garrison Heritage Award, chosen by the Office of Governor Doug Ducey), and awards from the Governor’s Archaeology Advisory Commission (GAAC) in Public Archaeology are also presented.

The 35th Annual Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards, presented by the State Historic Preservation Office and Arizona Preservation Foundation, recognize people, organizations, and projects that represent outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona’s prehistoric and historic resources. The 10 winners in this category significantly contributed to Arizona’s architectural heritage:

  • 1314 West Monroe Rehabilitation Project, Phoenix
  • Cienega Watershed Timeline Project
  • Tucson preservation advocate, Demion Clinco
  • Empire Ranch Historic American Landscapes Survey
  • Glaus House Rehabilitation Project, Paradise Valley
  • Noted photographer, Jerry Jacka
  • Phoenix preservation advocates, Gerry and Marge McCue
  • Our Lady’s Chapel Restoration Project, Tucson
  • The St. Francis of Assisi Mission School Rehabilitation
  • The Welnick Arcade Marketplace and Liefgreen Seed Company Building Rehabilitation Project, Phoenix

The Governor's Archaeology Advisory Commission presents awards to individuals, organizations, and/or programs that have significantly contributed to the protection and preservation of, and education about, Arizona's non-renewable archaeological resources. This year’s winners are:

  • Dr. Ronald S. Krug, Avocational Archaeologist 
  • Dave Salge, Site Steward 
  • Mark Hackbarth, Professional Archaeologist 
  • Pima County Cultural Resources and Historic Preservation Program, Government Entity 
  • Great Bend of the Gila National Monument Initiative, Private, Nonprofit Entity and Tribes - (Archaeology Southwest and 11 Southwestern Tribes - Ak-Chin Indian Community; Cocopah Indian Tribe; Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation; Fort Yuma Quechan Indian Tribe; Gila River Indian Community; Hopi Tribe; Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community; Tohono O’odham Nation; Yavapai-Apache Nation; Yavapai-Prescott Indian Tribe; Pueblo of Zuni)
  • Glen E. Rice, Lifetime Achievement 

The James W. Garrison Heritage Award was given to Our Lady’s Chapel Restoration Project. The award, named for a retired state historic preservation officer, is selected by Governor Doug Ducey's Office from all conference award winners. The Award is named for longtime State Historic Preservation Officer, James W. Garrison, who was on hand at the ceremony to present to the winners.

For more information about the Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards or the Governor’s Archaeological Advisory Commission’s Awards In Public Archaeology, visit the conference website at or contact the Arizona State Historic Preservation Office at 602-542-4009.

"Managing and conserving Arizona's natural, cultural and recreational resources for the benefit of the people, both in our parks and through our partners."

For information about all 35 Arizona State Parks and Natural Areas, the Trails and Off-Highway Vehicle Programs and State Historic Preservation Office call 1-877-MY-PARKS or visit

PRESS CONTACT: Glenn Schlottman at (602) 542-1996 or (480) 589-8877 - Email: